Tag: <span>chicago</span>

“The Girl Who Smiled Beads” by Clemantine Wamariya charts her and her sister, Claire’s, experience as refugees during the Rwandan genocide. Born into a relatively comfortable family, the girls’ lives are disrupted as the country descends into civil war and then ethnic genocide. Sent away from their family home in an attempt to keep them safe, the girls find themselves constantly on the move between countries and refugee camps in search of safety and some sense of normalcy.

Book Reviews

“My Life with Earth, Wind & Fire is an autobiography by Maurice White written in collaboration with Herb Powell. The book tells the story of White’s early life growing up in Memphis and his eventual move to Chicago where he decided to pursue music as a career. Fans of Earth Wind & Fire might particularly enjoy learning about the vision that went into forming the group, the making of various songs, and how it was all translated for live stage shows. The book would also be a great pick for people who are interested in music history and/or the music industry though they might not necessarily be fans of the band.

Book Reviews

If you’re interested in learning about the first Black person to win a Pulitzer prize, my Gwendolyn Brooks Black History Short is for you.

Historical Profile

If you’re interested in learning about the first Black woman and first Native-American to hold a pilot license then my Bessie Coleman Black History Short is for you.

Historical Profile

If you’re interested in learning about the first Black female playwright to have a play performed on Broadway then my Lorraine Hansberry Black History Short is for you.

Historical Profile