Tag: <span>memphis</span>

If you’re interested in learning about the musician turned songwriter and music publisher who is considered the godfather of the blues, my W.C. Handy Black History Short is for you.

Historical Profile

“My Life with Earth, Wind & Fire is an autobiography by Maurice White written in collaboration with Herb Powell. The book tells the story of White’s early life growing up in Memphis and his eventual move to Chicago where he decided to pursue music as a career. Fans of Earth Wind & Fire might particularly enjoy learning about the vision that went into forming the group, the making of various songs, and how it was all translated for live stage shows. The book would also be a great pick for people who are interested in music history and/or the music industry though they might not necessarily be fans of the band.

Book Reviews

A Black history travel guide for visiting Memphis, Tennessee which includes a brief history of the city and some insights into a few of its museums. In the guide I provide an overview of the city’s history dating back to its founding in 1819 as well as its emergence as a regional center of Black life. I also discuss a few of its music and two of its history museums in detail.

Places To Visit